December 5, 2019 posted by John Duke

AFTERGLOW: NZIER presents Summer Reading List for the Prime Minister

AFTERGLOW: NZIER presents Summer Reading List for the Prime Minister

Tuesday 3rd December 2019 Unity Books Wellington was honoured to host the announcement of the NZIER Summer Reading List For The Prime Minister 2019/20. There was a fine turn-out to acknowledge the skills and consideration that had gone into the selection of nine books, see the full list at the NZIER website

Speakers were Laurie Kubiak, Chief Executive NZIER, who welcomed everyone and highlighted the kaupapa and importance of this reading list for the Prime Minister. We then heard from Gary Hawke, Professor Emeritus Victoria University of Wellington and senior fellow of the NZIER, who described the criteria for the book choices and announced each book and identified their suitability. Laurie Kubiak returned to the mic to give recognition to authors from Aotearoa/New Zealand and Guthrie Smith Trustees, Damon Salesa and Peter Adams.

Those who purchased books will be on the same page as our Prime Minister this summer!

Find more information on the reading list at the NZIER website


Gary Hawke (Professor Emeritus), David Allan (Chair of the Guthrie-Smith Trust – Guthrie Smith was the author of Tutira), Sarah Allan

Todd Krieble (Deputy Chief Executive NZIER), Hon. Jenny Salesa, Damon Salesa

Todd Krieble (Deputy Chief Executive NZIER), Damon Salesa (author of Island Time), Laurence Kubiak (Chief Executive NZIER)

Ken Gledhill, Derek Gill, Peter Adams (author of Fatal Necessity)

Shona Kennedy, Grant Pryde, Bruce Wattie

Mike Bealing, Chris Nixon, Marinus La Rooj, Adolf Stroombergen, Eilya Torshizian

Some of the books under discussion

The crowd listening in

Laurence Kubiak (Chief Executive NZIER)

Gary Hawke (Professor Emeritus) announcing the list


To purchase copies of the listed books contact Unity Books or search at unitybooksonline

Share This Article

Related Posts